These Driving Behaviors Could Land You a Ticket in Texas
Like most other states, Texas has its fair share of bizarre driving laws that have remained on the books for years, even though their relevance is long gone. Be careful, because if you’re caught breaking any of these odd regulations on the road, you can land yourself a ticket!
Six Strange Laws
The Texas Department of Public Safety states there’s no law on the books that requires your vehicle to have a windshield, although your car is required to be fitted with windshield wipers.
The San Antonio Municipal Court can charge you a $152 fine for opening your car doors on public streets.
According to the city’s website, in Richardson, you may be pinned with a $205 fine for making a U-turn.
Texas law states that nothing may protrude from your car bumper unless it is attached with a chain.
According to Regulation 545.404, in the Denton County section of Fort Worth, you are required to apply the parking brake each time you exit the vehicle.
Regulation 545.404 also states that you may not depart your vehicle and leave it unchaperoned with the keys in the ignition.
Other Random Texas Facts
The Texas Department of Transportation demands that state roadway speed limits be set at the state maximum. If traffic and engineering studies display a demand for speed limit alterations for safety reasons, only then will speed limits be reduced.
The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department states that Texas’ state motto is friendship because the Caddo Indian word “tejas” means “friend.”
Texas boasts the fastest speed limit in the country at 85 mph.
The Texas Rangers are the oldest law enforcement agency in North America.
Over 72,000 miles of highways exist in Texas.
If you find yourself in a bind due to one of Texas’ odd laws, the attorneys at Templeton Smithee Hayes Heinrich and Russell can help.
Call our firm today at (806) 397-0300. We represent clients in the Texas panhandle and Eastern New Mexico.